With Wednesday’s repeal of Proposition 8 I am sure a brief search of the web will lead you to countless “Christian” blogs and church websites with any number of hateful and downright unchristian responses to this event. I would like to take a different approach. I am not really concerned with politics and I think we could all use the occasional reminder that how we vote has little, if any, eternal significance. If we were half as concerned about these issues, and many others, as we claim to be then I think far more of our time would be spent building gospel-centered relationships and far less would be wasted lobbying for some political agenda.

With that in mind I would like to point you to Hagar’s Well a ministry that “seeks to create environments where barriers that Christians have placed between the LGBT community and Christ are removed. We believe that truly seeing others and listening to their opinions and concerns is key to developing genuine understanding. Through prayer and honest conversation, we seek to bring people closer to healing in relationships and potential acceptance of the gospel.”

Along with setting up prayer booths at San Francisco Pride they also host a booth called iVent which serves as an open mic to create dialogue and understanding between the church and the LGBT community. Below is the video from the 2009 iVent booth which addresses the topic of church. My aim in showing this video is not so you can assess the validity of their thoughts. My aim is to allow you to hear the thoughts of a community whom the church is largely failing to reach with the gospel and ask “What are you doing to build relationships with the LGBT community?”

I have become all things to all people, that by all means I might save some.

-I Corinthians 9:22b-

