David Sitton with “To Every Tribe” writes of his own “involvement” in missions. Here’s the opening excerpt:

I was never called to be a missionary, nor was I drafted.  I volunteered.  No special call was needed.  I chose to go; I wanted to go; I was compelled to go.  And where I go is determined by an open bible and a stretched-out map of the regions where Christ is still unknown and un-praised!

I chuckle when I hear missionaries and pastors talk about “surrendering to the call” of ministry.  I always want to ask, “After you surrendered, were you water-boarded, or just hauled off in handcuffs and leg irons.”  Was it really necessary for you to be abducted by a heavenly vision before you would go into the work of the gospel?

The missionary call is not like a prison dog that tracks us down, sniffs us out, and hog-ties us for the nations.  That is silly-talk and really bad theology.  Nowhere in Scripture is a mysterious (supernatural) call a prerequisite before we can respond to the Great Commission.  The opposite is actually true.

Read the entire post here.

Do you agree or disagree?

