In an ongoing study with our church, one of the challenges in living out the gospel has been to “keep the cross central.” But, how do I keep the cross central to the events of daily life such as work, social engagements, time with family, or other areas of daily life? Here are a few thoughts on the matter:

1. First of all, the cross, or more specifically, Jesus’ death on the cross, serves to show me the unity of God’s complete story as revealed in Scripture. In this I am reminded that I am a part of something not only that has meaning but that is, in fact, more meaningful that anything else we know.

2. The cross should shape my mind and thoughts all day and every day so that I am always aware to some degree of my great rescue. “You should always look at yourself and think, ‘I can’t believe I’m a Christian.’ If you’re a Christian, it’s a miracle.” (Tim Keller)

3. The cross should remind me of God’s mission, and that no person (or situation) I will encounter falls outside of God’s mission in Christ.

4. The cross should remind me that my time is not my own. I have been bought with a price, being redeemed out of slavery to sin and being redeemed to live a life to God’s glory.

5. The cross should keep God’s grace central to my perspective in all situations. I am to be gracious in the same way to others and concerning every situation I encounter. Herein my attitude is being shaped at all times.

